1. Home
  2. /

  3. /

    Star-Studded Renewal Of Limerick's Con & Annie Kirby Memorial
Star-Studded Renewal Of Limerick's Con & Annie Kirby Memorial
Greyhound dog. Source: Midjourney

Star-Studded Renewal Of Limerick's Con & Annie Kirby Memorial

Generously sponsored by JP and Noreen McManus, the 2024 edition of the Con & Annie Kirby Memorial will kick off this Saturday at Limerick Greyhound Stadium, with the draw for the €80,000 top prize Classic announced earlier today.

As anticipated, the world's richest Juvenile Classic has attracted the cream of the county's young talent, with twelve opening round heats featuring the top four qualifiers from each heat.

Among the array of talent in the draw, recent Juvenile Classic victor, Ballymac Patriot, is set to feature in heat two, where he's expected to advance safely against contenders like Baby Bocko, Romeo Falco, and Athlacca Arteta.

Reigning National puppy champion, Whyaye Bonnylad, showed promising form with a rapid 18.64 trial around Limerick in recent weeks. Trained by Robert Gleeson, he'll start from trap four in heat seven, facing competition from rivals like Carneys Goldmine, Ballinabola Bill, and the highly anticipated Epic Chick.

Romeo Taylor, winner of the Rural Kennels Unraced stake at Clonmel, lines up in heat six alongside Munster Juvenile Puppy Cup winner Faypoint Harvey. However, Ballymac Danica, a standout performer in the Clonmel stake, will contest heat eight against tough competitors like Carmac King, Clona Comet, Coolavanny Poppy, Ower Cracker, and the impressive debutant Radical Harry, making it one of the most competitive heats of the night.

Mustang Fever, winner of a top trial stake last Saturday with a dominant 28.16 performance, will start from the red jacket in heat three, while Scooby Countess aims to kick off the renewal in heat one with high expectations.

Other notable contenders in the star-studded 2024 renewal include Tralee standouts Coolavanny Otto and Da Bold Falcon, along with promising talents like Carrick Keano, Hanover Sky, Droopys Carbine, Antigua Hawk, Good Hope, De Foxy Devil, March On Freddie, Faypoint Sean, Barefoot On Fire, Ballymac Senan, and Unanimous Kai.


Get the latest news to your inbox.

Subscribe to the newsletter

We value your privacy and promise not to distribute your email to third parties.