1. Home
  2. /

  3. /

    GBGB Announces K.S.S. Syndicate as Owner of the Year for 2023
GBGB Announces K.S.S. Syndicate as Owner of the Year for 2023

GBGB Announces K.S.S. Syndicate as Owner of the Year for 2023

After a remarkable year on the track, securing an impressive nine Category One wins, the K.S.S. Syndicate is celebrated as the Owners of the Year for the ninth time.

Led by Brendan Keogh and Simon Senyk, the syndicate accumulated 1,194 points in the past year, outperforming MWD Partnership (953 points) and Dave Firmager (577 points) in 2023.

Their greyhounds, under the tutelage of trainers Liz and Rab McNair in Ashford, Kent, amassed the highest points tally based on a scale recognizing the number of competitions won and finals reached.

Their winning roster included Frompostopillar, the victor of the Arena Racing Company Kent Plate and Ladbrokes Summer Stayers, Queen Joni, triumphing in BGBF Produce Stakes and British Bred Derby, and the electrifying King Memphis, securing the RPGTV Puppy Derby and Coral Olympic titles.

In a phenomenal finish to the racing year, the K.S.S. Syndicate clinched five Cat One titles in as many weeks.

Brendan Keogh expressed his delight, saying, “We are delighted to win it, and full credit to Liz and Rab; we have a lot to thank them for! King Memphis winning the Olympic at Hove stands out for me as a highlight. He has some pace, and looking ahead to the Derby, we already know he runs Towcester well. Everyone tells me the Droopys Sydney dogs improve with age so we are keeping our fingers crossed.”

Rab added, “We just keep our feet on the ground with the dogs we have, to keep going, and to keep doing the right thing by them. Without a shadow of a doubt, King Memphis winning the Olympic was special for all of us. It was the best race of the year given the dogs that were in it. To win it with one who had just come out of puppy status and beat them like that was out of this world.”

Scott Harvey, GBGB Racing Operations Executive, extended his congratulations, stating, “Congratulations to Brendan, Simon, Rab, and Liz on yet another magnificent year. They have helped put British breeding firmly back in the spotlight thanks to a remarkable run of Cat One successes. This win is thoroughly deserved.”

The Owner of the Year award recognizes the owner or owners whose dogs have accumulated the highest number of points based on the same scoring system used to decide the Champion Trainer.

Previous winners include:

  • 2022: K.S.S Syndicate
  • 2021: K.S.S Syndicate
  • 2020: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2019: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2018: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2017: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2016: The Conlon Family
  • 2015: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2014: K.S.S. Syndicate
  • 2013: Simon Wooder & Daren Johnson
  • 2012: Mark Currell
  • 2011: Steve and Becki Taylor

Get the latest news to your inbox.

Subscribe to the newsletter

We value your privacy and promise not to distribute your email to third parties.