1. Home
  2. /

  3. /

    Greyhound racing in the UK: results 2023
Greyhound racing in the UK: results 2023
Rachel Holland with Gaytime Nemo after winning the English Greyhound Derby

Greyhound racing in the UK: results 2023

The 98th season of greyhound racing in the UK has concluded.

The racing calendar for 2023 was busier than the previous year, attributed to the reopening of the prestigious Pall Mall Stakes at the Oxford Stadium. The stadium, closed in 2012, reopened in 2022. The 2023 Pall Mall Stakes winner was Tom Heilbron's Links Maverick (Newcastle) in 29.76 over 450m, sponsored by Stadium Bookmakers.

In 2022, the Welsh Government held a parliamentary debate on a petition to abolish greyhound racing in Wales, specifically discussing the Valley Greyhound Stadium where independent racing occurred. In August 2023, the stadium was licensed and governed by GBGB regulations, focusing on the lifelong welfare of greyhounds. On 1 November 2023, the stadium hosted the first greyhound racing under the auspices of the Greyhound Board of Great Britain (GBGB).

In September 2023, GBGB celebrated the 3rd anniversary of the Greyhound Retirement Scheme. During this time, more than 9,000 dogs were placed in shelters or adopted into families as pets.

In 2023, the number of races with prize money of £20,000 or more has increased to match that of the Irish racing calendar.

The main event of the year was the English Greyhound Derby, a race held in May, June, and July the previous year and sponsored by Star Sports/TRC. The race final occurred on 1 July at Towcester Greyhound Stadium. A total of 185 dogs had a chance to win, but only one became the champion: the black dog Gaytime Nemo. He earned his owner, Brendan O'Connell of Cork, Ireland, £185,000. Graham D. Holland, the trainer of Gaytime Nemo, had previously won the Irish Greyhound Derby three times and the English Greyhound Derby once.the

2023 UK Major Finals:

  • Premier Greyhound Racing Golden Jacket, Crayford. 02/18/2023, distance 714m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - Bellmore Sally, trainer - Jimmy Fenwick.
  • Ladbrokes TV Trophy, Crayford. 15/04/2023, distance 874m, prize fund £15,000. Winner - Bellmore Sally, trainer - James Fenwick.
  • Arena Racing Company Laurels, Perry Barr. 29/04/2023, distance 480m, prize fund £12,500. Winner - Hawkfield Ozark, coach - Patrick Janssens.
  • Premier Greyhound Racing Regency, Brighton. 29/07/2023, distance 695m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - Space Jet, coach - Matt Dartnall.
  • Stadium Bookmakers Pall Mall, Oxford. 29/07/2023, distance 450m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - Links Maverick, coach - Tom Heilbron.
  • Premier Greyhound Racing St Leger, Perry Barr. 23/09/2023, distance 710m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - Droopys Clue, trainer - Seamus Cahill.
  • Premier Greyhound Racing Champion Stakes, Romford. 21/10/2023, distance 575m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - Hollow Man, coach - Derek Knight.
  • Premier Greyhound Racing Oaks, Perry Barr. 27/10/2023, distance 480m, prize fund £20,000. Winner - No Rush, coach - Carol Weatherall.
Perry Barr CEO Chris Black, CEO Martin Seale (left) and Deputy CEO Dan Bradshaw present Patrick Janssens with the PGR Judgment Trophy. Perry Barr April 6, 2023

One of the most prestigious competitions of the year, the Greyhound Trainers' Championship, held at Perry Barr on 6 April, was won by Patrick Janssens, a Belgian-born greyhound trainer. In 2020, Patrick Janssens won the Trainer of the Year title for the first time, and in 2021, he won the English Greyhound Derby with Thorne Falcon.

On 29 December 2023, it was announced that the GBGB Trainer of the Year title had been won for the 14th time by Mark Wallis, the UK's leading greyhound trainer.

The Greyhound Board of Great Britain (GBGB) announces that the 2023 Greyhound of the Year ceremony will be held on 3 March 2024 in Brighton. The ceremony will recognize the best greyhound performances and reward the teams and individuals who have led them to success.


Get the latest news to your inbox.

Subscribe to the newsletter

We value your privacy and promise not to distribute your email to third parties.